close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Research Databases and Subscriptions

WPPL has many excellent resources to assist you with conducting research, learning a new skill, or exploring the world. In addition, there are FDLP resources available on our Government Documents page and non-fiction eBooks, newspapers, streaming videos, and more available on our Download & Stream page.

 
  • about:books

    A book-related search engine from the Ohio Public Library Information Network. Search by title, author, etc., and find information on books, reviews, etc.

  • Academic Search Premier

    This database includes academic journals going back as far as 1975, and further in some cases. Journals cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

  • African American Heritage

    ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. It provides users a dedicated resource that brings together records critical to African American family research and connects them to a community of research experts, who can provide invaluable mentoring and assistance.

  • ALLDATA

    IN LIBRARY ONLY Automotive diagnostic and repair information.

  • America's News Magazines & Plain Dealer

    Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. The Plain Dealer (Cleveland, OH) and other News Magazines are available.

  • American & English Literature

    Includes full text of works of American and English prose, drama and poetry.

  • American Physical Society Journals

    IN LIBRARY ONLY The American Physical Society (APS) provides free online access to all APS journals in U.S. public libraries and high schools. Among the journals available are Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

  • Ancestry Library Edition

    IN LIBRARY ONLY A genealogical database that includes U.S. Census data, special collections, as well as charts and forms to organize your research.

  • Biography Reference Bank

    This database from H.W. Wilson provides biographical information from ancient times to the present.

  • Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S.

    This resource features expertly selected open primary source documents, including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. Suitable for a wide range of students, from middle and high school to college, as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the ongoing Black Freedom Struggle.

  • Business Source Premier

    Research companies, industries, and countries, including market research information.

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

    CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.

  • Chilton Library

    Access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.

  • Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection

    Explore Cleveland history through local news, events and people with the Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

  • Consumer Health Complete

    Full-text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition— coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

  • Consumer Reports

    Consumer Reports is a great site for consumer research. Research cars, electronics, appliances, and much more. Find guides on how to shop for particular items.

  • Creativebug Online Video Classes

    More than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Enjoy video classes on embroidery, quilting, knitting, sewing, baking, painting, and much more! Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters, and makers, now available to you for free with your library card. Get started with this guide to Accessing Creativebug (PDF).

  • Driving-tests.org

    This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

  • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

    The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

  • ERIC

    The Education Resources Information Center (a.k.a. ERIC) is a database that includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers, all in the area of education.

  • Explora

    Explora is a colorful, mobile-friendly interface to selected EBSCO information databases that provides not only a simple search box but easy-to-browse categories. Explora includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research; articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research; and reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content.

  • Financial Ratings Series Online

    Important financial literacy tools from Weiss Ratings & Grey House Publishing include independent, unbiased financial strength ratings of banks, credit unions & insurance companies; conservative buy-hold-sell ratings of thousands of stocks, mutual funds & exchange traded funds; your own personal account to create a watchlist, upgrade/downgrade notifications; and information on Medicare supplement insurance. Take advantage of these important financial planning tools today!

  • Fold3

    This resource provides access to digitized versions of original historical and genealogical documents, and to these resources adds social networking capabilities. People can share information and learn from one another. Documents include vital documents, historical newspapers, naturalization records, photos, and more.

  • Foundation Directory Online

    IN LIBRARY ONLY Foundation Directory Online Professional by Candid is the most comprehensive prospect research tool for fundraisers, with over 224,000+ grantmaker profiles, 900,000+ recipient profiles, and data on 17+ million grants. Formerly grouped under Foundation Center.

  • Foundation Grants to Individuals

    IN LIBRARY ONLY Foundation Grants to Individuals by Candid offers information on almost 10,000 funders that provide scholarships, grants, and other types of funding to students, artists, and researchers. Formerly grouped under Foundation Center.

  • FuelEconomy.gov

    A federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own. The website features updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. Vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings are also provided.

  • Gale In Context: Elementary

    (formerly Kids InfoBits) Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use, and perfect for today's young learners, Gale In Context: Elementary addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun! Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

  • Genetics Home Reference

    The National Library of Medicine website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions. Genetics Home Reference includes conditions that have a known or suspected genetic component along with additional information on understanding genetics.

  • Glassdoor

    An inside look at company salaries, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

  • Health Information Translations

    Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Material provided as a public service; free and without copyright restriction; available in PDF, MP3, and MPG.

  • HeritageHub

    NEW! Explore genealogical records from 1704 – today, including hard-to-find obituary content from the mid 1900’s, coverage from all 50 states, and original obituary images from historical newspapers. Access is available 24/7.

  • HeritageQuest

    A research tool for genealogy. Search Census data, local and family histories, and many other areas.

  • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

    Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

  • Home Improvement Reference Center

    Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need.

  • LinkedIn Learning

    Formerly Lynda.com. More than 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. The video courses are taught by industry experts and are designed for any skill level. You will need your library card number and PIN in order to log in to LinkenIn Learning.

  • Literary Reference Center

    Full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

  • Little Pim Language Learning for Kids

    A fun, interactive language system for young learners from Mango Languages! Little Pim includes animated videos and other tools to make learning a language simpler for kids. Little Pim offers training in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

  • Mango Languages

    An online language-learning system that can help you learn the following foreign languages: Arabic (Levantine), Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Farsi (Persian), Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Pashto, Portuguese (Brazil), Slovak, Spanish (Latin America), Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. There are also courses for students of English. Check out this brief tutorial video for more information. Mobile apps are available for iOS and Android devices.

  • MasterFile Premier

    Contains extensive reference resources on a range of disciplines, going back to 1975. Included are biographies and original source documents.

  • MedlinePlus

    The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus brings you information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues.

  • MedlinePlus - Health Information in Multiple Languages

    Browse health information in multiple languages—including Arabic (العربية), Chinese (Mandarin) (简体中文), Ukrainian (українська) and more—arranged by language. You can also browse this information by health topic.

  • Merck Manuals

    One of the world’s most widely used medical information resources. The Merck Manuals have committed to making the best current medical information accessible by up to 3 billion health care professionals and patients on every continent by 2020. The Manuals are available in a Consumer Version for patients, parents and caregivers and a Professional Version for medical professionals and students.

  • Merck Veterinary Manuals

    Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional, from a trusted source of comprehensive, up-to-date, and accurate information on the health problems affecting animals.

  • Morningstar Investment Research Center

    Research companies, funds, markets and more. This resource features tools to help you decide on the makeup for your portfolio. Your library card number is required to access outside of the library.

  • Newspaper Source

    This database includes full-text of 35 national and international newspapers in addition to nearly 400 regional newspapers.

  • Northstar Digital Literacy

    NEW! Northstar Digital Literacy is aimed at helping adults acquire the technology skills they need in today’s workplace. Once signed up for a an account, users can take an assessment to test what they know about a particular topic. Test results will then show lessons to practice anything that needs to be reviewed. After training, proctored tests can be scheduled at the library to receive certification for job applications or professional development.

  • NoveList Plus

    Looking for new reads, help with series, and book reviews? NoveList Plus provides readers with all of those things, and more: all sorts of lists, read-alikes, and genre guides. NoveList Plus also provides different appeal factors for books to help you find reads that you will enjoy. Use Advanced Search to find only titles held at WPPL and follow the Check the Library Catalog link to place a hold on titles you find.

  • Ohio Death Records Index

    You can search by first and last name, and refine by county. The records available for research include Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, and Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates.

  • Ohio History Central

    This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

  • Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules

    Ohio law consists of the Ohio Constitution, the Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Administrative Code. The Constitution is the state's highest law superseding all others. The Revised Code is the codified law of the state while the Administrative Code is a compilation of administrative rules adopted by state agencies. 

  • Ohio Legal Help

    Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Ohio Legal Help provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.

  • Ohio Means Jobs

    A site for employers and job seekers in the state of Ohio. Employers can post jobs and search through resumes; job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

  • Ohio Web Library

    Federated search engine that searches across a number of commercial databases. The Ohio Web Library Sources page allows you to browse for specific sources for more focused searching.

  • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

    Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

  • Ohioline

    From Ohio State University, this database includes information on agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.

  • Oxford Research Encyclopedias

    Long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

  • Points of View

    Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

  • Reference Solutions

    Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) by Data Axle is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses and U.S. residents. With Reference Solutions, it is faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Library card number required.

  • Regional Business News

    A database of articles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires. The database is updated daily. Coverage for the database is nationwide.

  • S&P Global NetAdvantage

    Industry and company analysis and investment rankings including Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports) and the Outlook investment newsletter. Stock price history charts and executive bios also provided. Screening tools to find companies and create lists from a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies.

  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

    Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

  • Science Reference Center

    Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

  • Small Business Reference Center

    Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Small Business Reference Center includes business videos, help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

  • Transparent Language Online

    A fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with enhanced support for mobile platforms, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

  • Value Line

    Stock portfolio management and investment research. Library card validation required.

  • Very Short Introductions

    Intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. Hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to consider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. Teachers and other educators can assign chapters or whole books to students. Adult learners can also gain new insights through an introduction to a topic.

  • What Tree Is it?

    Have you ever found a leaf or fruit and wonder what kind of tree it came from? The What Tree Is It? website will help you come up with the answers. It is a useful site for hikers, birders, and students.

  • What's that Snake?

    Accurately identifying snakes found in the wild is an important task. What's that Snake?  makes snake identification much easier. It is a great site for students learning about snakes, as well as people who spend time in the outdoors.

  • What's the Point?

    A website created by the Ohio Public Library Information Network and the Ohio Historical Society to provide a guide for identifying flint artifacts, in addition to historical information about Ohio's ancient peoples.

  • World Book Kids

    An online encyclopedia for younger students. Includes a dictionary and a section on maps.

  • World Book Online

    The online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. It includes primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, and images.

  • Zety Online Resume Maker

    Zety is an online career toolbox featuring a resume builder and free professional advice from career experts. In addition, Zety includes more than 400 career guides supported by extensive research, consultation, and fact-checking.

    • Creativebug Online Video Classes

      More than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Enjoy video classes on embroidery, quilting, knitting, sewing, baking, painting, and much more! Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters, and makers, now available to you for free with your library card. Get started with this guide to Accessing Creativebug (PDF).

    • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

      Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

    • about:books

      A book-related search engine from the Ohio Public Library Information Network. Search by title, author, etc., and find information on books, reviews, etc.

    • American & English Literature

      Includes full text of works of American and English prose, drama and poetry.

    • Literary Reference Center

      Full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

    • NoveList Plus

      Looking for new reads, help with series, and book reviews? NoveList Plus provides readers with all of those things, and more: all sorts of lists, read-alikes, and genre guides. NoveList Plus also provides different appeal factors for books to help you find reads that you will enjoy. Use Advanced Search to find only titles held at WPPL and follow the Check the Library Catalog link to place a hold on titles you find.

    • Business Source Premier

      Research companies, industries, and countries, including market research information.

    • Financial Ratings Series Online

      Important financial literacy tools from Weiss Ratings & Grey House Publishing include independent, unbiased financial strength ratings of banks, credit unions & insurance companies; conservative buy-hold-sell ratings of thousands of stocks, mutual funds & exchange traded funds; your own personal account to create a watchlist, upgrade/downgrade notifications; and information on Medicare supplement insurance. Take advantage of these important financial planning tools today!

    • Foundation Directory Online

      IN LIBRARY ONLY Foundation Directory Online Professional by Candid is the most comprehensive prospect research tool for fundraisers, with over 224,000+ grantmaker profiles, 900,000+ recipient profiles, and data on 17+ million grants. Formerly grouped under Foundation Center.

    • Foundation Grants to Individuals

      IN LIBRARY ONLY Foundation Grants to Individuals by Candid offers information on almost 10,000 funders that provide scholarships, grants, and other types of funding to students, artists, and researchers. Formerly grouped under Foundation Center.

    • Glassdoor

      An inside look at company salaries, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

    • Morningstar Investment Research Center

      Research companies, funds, markets and more. This resource features tools to help you decide on the makeup for your portfolio. Your library card number is required to access outside of the library.

    • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

      Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

    • Ohioline

      From Ohio State University, this database includes information on agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.

    • Reference Solutions

      Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) by Data Axle is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses and U.S. residents. With Reference Solutions, it is faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Library card number required.

    • Regional Business News

      A database of articles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires. The database is updated daily. Coverage for the database is nationwide.

    • S&P Global NetAdvantage

      Industry and company analysis and investment rankings including Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports) and the Outlook investment newsletter. Stock price history charts and executive bios also provided. Screening tools to find companies and create lists from a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies.

    • Small Business Reference Center

      Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Small Business Reference Center includes business videos, help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

    • Value Line

      Stock portfolio management and investment research. Library card validation required.

    • Driving-tests.org

      This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

    • ERIC

      The Education Resources Information Center (a.k.a. ERIC) is a database that includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers, all in the area of education.

    • Glassdoor

      An inside look at company salaries, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

    • LinkedIn Learning

      Formerly Lynda.com. More than 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. The video courses are taught by industry experts and are designed for any skill level. You will need your library card number and PIN in order to log in to LinkenIn Learning.

    • Northstar Digital Literacy

      NEW! Northstar Digital Literacy is aimed at helping adults acquire the technology skills they need in today’s workplace. Once signed up for a an account, users can take an assessment to test what they know about a particular topic. Test results will then show lessons to practice anything that needs to be reviewed. After training, proctored tests can be scheduled at the library to receive certification for job applications or professional development.

    • Ohio Means Jobs

      A site for employers and job seekers in the state of Ohio. Employers can post jobs and search through resumes; job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

    • Reference Solutions

      Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) by Data Axle is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses and U.S. residents. With Reference Solutions, it is faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Library card number required.

    • Small Business Reference Center

      Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Small Business Reference Center includes business videos, help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

    • Zety Online Resume Maker

      Zety is an online career toolbox featuring a resume builder and free professional advice from career experts. In addition, Zety includes more than 400 career guides supported by extensive research, consultation, and fact-checking.

    • African American Heritage

      ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. It provides users a dedicated resource that brings together records critical to African American family research and connects them to a community of research experts, who can provide invaluable mentoring and assistance.

    • Ancestry Library Edition

      IN LIBRARY ONLY A genealogical database that includes U.S. Census data, special collections, as well as charts and forms to organize your research.

    • Fold3

      This resource provides access to digitized versions of original historical and genealogical documents, and to these resources adds social networking capabilities. People can share information and learn from one another. Documents include vital documents, historical newspapers, naturalization records, photos, and more.

    • HeritageHub

      NEW! Explore genealogical records from 1704 – today, including hard-to-find obituary content from the mid 1900’s, coverage from all 50 states, and original obituary images from historical newspapers. Access is available 24/7.

    • HeritageQuest

      A research tool for genealogy. Search Census data, local and family histories, and many other areas.

    • Ohio Death Records Index

      You can search by first and last name, and refine by county. The records available for research include Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, and Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates.

    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

      Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

    • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

      CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.

    • Driving-tests.org

      This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

    • FuelEconomy.gov

      A federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own. The website features updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. Vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings are also provided.

    • Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules

      Ohio law consists of the Ohio Constitution, the Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Administrative Code. The Constitution is the state's highest law superseding all others. The Revised Code is the codified law of the state while the Administrative Code is a compilation of administrative rules adopted by state agencies. 

    • Ohio Legal Help

      Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Ohio Legal Help provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.

    • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

      Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

    • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

      CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.

    • Consumer Health Complete

      Full-text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition— coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

    • Genetics Home Reference

      The National Library of Medicine website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions. Genetics Home Reference includes conditions that have a known or suspected genetic component along with additional information on understanding genetics.

    • Health Information Translations

      Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Material provided as a public service; free and without copyright restriction; available in PDF, MP3, and MPG.

    • MedlinePlus

      The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus brings you information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues.

    • MedlinePlus - Health Information in Multiple Languages

      Browse health information in multiple languages—including Arabic (العربية), Chinese (Mandarin) (简体中文), Ukrainian (українська) and more—arranged by language. You can also browse this information by health topic.

    • Merck Manuals

      One of the world’s most widely used medical information resources. The Merck Manuals have committed to making the best current medical information accessible by up to 3 billion health care professionals and patients on every continent by 2020. The Manuals are available in a Consumer Version for patients, parents and caregivers and a Professional Version for medical professionals and students.

    • Merck Veterinary Manuals

      Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional, from a trusted source of comprehensive, up-to-date, and accurate information on the health problems affecting animals.

    • African American Heritage

      ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. It provides users a dedicated resource that brings together records critical to African American family research and connects them to a community of research experts, who can provide invaluable mentoring and assistance.

    • Ancestry Library Edition

      IN LIBRARY ONLY A genealogical database that includes U.S. Census data, special collections, as well as charts and forms to organize your research.

    • Biography Reference Bank

      This database from H.W. Wilson provides biographical information from ancient times to the present.

    • Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S.

      This resource features expertly selected open primary source documents, including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. Suitable for a wide range of students, from middle and high school to college, as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the ongoing Black Freedom Struggle.

    • Fold3

      This resource provides access to digitized versions of original historical and genealogical documents, and to these resources adds social networking capabilities. People can share information and learn from one another. Documents include vital documents, historical newspapers, naturalization records, photos, and more.

    • Ohio History Central

      This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

      Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

    • What's the Point?

      A website created by the Ohio Public Library Information Network and the Ohio Historical Society to provide a guide for identifying flint artifacts, in addition to historical information about Ohio's ancient peoples.

    • Academic Search Premier

      This database includes academic journals going back as far as 1975, and further in some cases. Journals cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

    • America's News Magazines & Plain Dealer

      Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. The Plain Dealer (Cleveland, OH) and other News Magazines are available.

    • Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection

      Explore Cleveland history through local news, events and people with the Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

    • Consumer Reports

      Consumer Reports is a great site for consumer research. Research cars, electronics, appliances, and much more. Find guides on how to shop for particular items.

    • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

      Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

    • Home Improvement Reference Center

      Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need.

    • MasterFile Premier

      Contains extensive reference resources on a range of disciplines, going back to 1975. Included are biographies and original source documents.

    • Newspaper Source

      This database includes full-text of 35 national and international newspapers in addition to nearly 400 regional newspapers.

    • Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection

      Explore Cleveland history through local news, events and people with the Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

    • Driving-tests.org

      This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

    • Ohio Death Records Index

      You can search by first and last name, and refine by county. The records available for research include Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, and Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates.

    • Ohio History Central

      This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

    • Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules

      Ohio law consists of the Ohio Constitution, the Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Administrative Code. The Constitution is the state's highest law superseding all others. The Revised Code is the codified law of the state while the Administrative Code is a compilation of administrative rules adopted by state agencies. 

    • Ohio Legal Help

      Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Ohio Legal Help provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.

    • Ohio Means Jobs

      A site for employers and job seekers in the state of Ohio. Employers can post jobs and search through resumes; job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

    • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

      Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

      Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

    • What Tree Is it?

      Have you ever found a leaf or fruit and wonder what kind of tree it came from? The What Tree Is It? website will help you come up with the answers. It is a useful site for hikers, birders, and students.

    • What's that Snake?

      Accurately identifying snakes found in the wild is an important task. What's that Snake?  makes snake identification much easier. It is a great site for students learning about snakes, as well as people who spend time in the outdoors.

    • What's the Point?

      A website created by the Ohio Public Library Information Network and the Ohio Historical Society to provide a guide for identifying flint artifacts, in addition to historical information about Ohio's ancient peoples.

    • about:books

      A book-related search engine from the Ohio Public Library Information Network. Search by title, author, etc., and find information on books, reviews, etc.

    • Academic Search Premier

      This database includes academic journals going back as far as 1975, and further in some cases. Journals cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

    • American & English Literature

      Includes full text of works of American and English prose, drama and poetry.

    • American Physical Society Journals

      IN LIBRARY ONLY The American Physical Society (APS) provides free online access to all APS journals in U.S. public libraries and high schools. Among the journals available are Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

    • Consumer Reports

      Consumer Reports is a great site for consumer research. Research cars, electronics, appliances, and much more. Find guides on how to shop for particular items.

    • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

      The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

    • Explora

      Explora is a colorful, mobile-friendly interface to selected EBSCO information databases that provides not only a simple search box but easy-to-browse categories. Explora includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research; articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research; and reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content.

    • Gale In Context: Elementary

      (formerly Kids InfoBits) Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use, and perfect for today's young learners, Gale In Context: Elementary addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun! Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

    • HeritageHub

      NEW! Explore genealogical records from 1704 – today, including hard-to-find obituary content from the mid 1900’s, coverage from all 50 states, and original obituary images from historical newspapers. Access is available 24/7.

    • Literary Reference Center

      Full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

    • MasterFile Premier

      Contains extensive reference resources on a range of disciplines, going back to 1975. Included are biographies and original source documents.

    • Ohio Web Library

      Federated search engine that searches across a number of commercial databases. The Ohio Web Library Sources page allows you to browse for specific sources for more focused searching.

    • Oxford Research Encyclopedias

      Long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

    • Points of View

      Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

    • Reference Solutions

      Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) by Data Axle is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses and U.S. residents. With Reference Solutions, it is faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Library card number required.

    • Very Short Introductions

      Intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. Hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to consider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. Teachers and other educators can assign chapters or whole books to students. Adult learners can also gain new insights through an introduction to a topic.

    • World Book Kids

      An online encyclopedia for younger students. Includes a dictionary and a section on maps.

    • World Book Online

      The online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. It includes primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, and images.

    • American Physical Society Journals

      IN LIBRARY ONLY The American Physical Society (APS) provides free online access to all APS journals in U.S. public libraries and high schools. Among the journals available are Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

    • Genetics Home Reference

      The National Library of Medicine website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions. Genetics Home Reference includes conditions that have a known or suspected genetic component along with additional information on understanding genetics.

    • Merck Veterinary Manuals

      Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional, from a trusted source of comprehensive, up-to-date, and accurate information on the health problems affecting animals.

    • Ohio History Central

      This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

    • Ohioline

      From Ohio State University, this database includes information on agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.

    • Science Reference Center

      Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

    • What Tree Is it?

      Have you ever found a leaf or fruit and wonder what kind of tree it came from? The What Tree Is It? website will help you come up with the answers. It is a useful site for hikers, birders, and students.

    • What's that Snake?

      Accurately identifying snakes found in the wild is an important task. What's that Snake?  makes snake identification much easier. It is a great site for students learning about snakes, as well as people who spend time in the outdoors.

    • Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S.

      This resource features expertly selected open primary source documents, including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. Suitable for a wide range of students, from middle and high school to college, as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the ongoing Black Freedom Struggle.

    • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

      The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

    • Explora

      Explora is a colorful, mobile-friendly interface to selected EBSCO information databases that provides not only a simple search box but easy-to-browse categories. Explora includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research; articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research; and reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content.

    • Gale In Context: Elementary

      (formerly Kids InfoBits) Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use, and perfect for today's young learners, Gale In Context: Elementary addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun! Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

    • Little Pim Language Learning for Kids

      A fun, interactive language system for young learners from Mango Languages! Little Pim includes animated videos and other tools to make learning a language simpler for kids. Little Pim offers training in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

    • Points of View

      Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

    • Very Short Introductions

      Intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. Hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to consider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. Teachers and other educators can assign chapters or whole books to students. Adult learners can also gain new insights through an introduction to a topic.

    • World Book Kids

      An online encyclopedia for younger students. Includes a dictionary and a section on maps.

    • World Book Online

      The online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. It includes primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, and images.

    • ALLDATA

      IN LIBRARY ONLY Automotive diagnostic and repair information.

    • Chilton Library

      Access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.

    • Creativebug Online Video Classes

      More than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Enjoy video classes on embroidery, quilting, knitting, sewing, baking, painting, and much more! Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters, and makers, now available to you for free with your library card. Get started with this guide to Accessing Creativebug (PDF).

    • FuelEconomy.gov

      A federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own. The website features updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. Vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings are also provided.

    • Home Improvement Reference Center

      Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need.

    • LinkedIn Learning

      Formerly Lynda.com. More than 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. The video courses are taught by industry experts and are designed for any skill level. You will need your library card number and PIN in order to log in to LinkenIn Learning.

    • Northstar Digital Literacy

      NEW! Northstar Digital Literacy is aimed at helping adults acquire the technology skills they need in today’s workplace. Once signed up for a an account, users can take an assessment to test what they know about a particular topic. Test results will then show lessons to practice anything that needs to be reviewed. After training, proctored tests can be scheduled at the library to receive certification for job applications or professional development.

    • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

      The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

    • Health Information Translations

      Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Material provided as a public service; free and without copyright restriction; available in PDF, MP3, and MPG.

    • Little Pim Language Learning for Kids

      A fun, interactive language system for young learners from Mango Languages! Little Pim includes animated videos and other tools to make learning a language simpler for kids. Little Pim offers training in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

    • Mango Languages

      An online language-learning system that can help you learn the following foreign languages: Arabic (Levantine), Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Farsi (Persian), Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Pashto, Portuguese (Brazil), Slovak, Spanish (Latin America), Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. There are also courses for students of English. Check out this brief tutorial video for more information. Mobile apps are available for iOS and Android devices.

    • MedlinePlus - Health Information in Multiple Languages

      Browse health information in multiple languages—including Arabic (العربية), Chinese (Mandarin) (简体中文), Ukrainian (українська) and more—arranged by language. You can also browse this information by health topic.

    • Transparent Language Online

      A fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with enhanced support for mobile platforms, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

Library card

Don't have a Westlake Porter Public Library card? It's free and convenient to get one! Online registration delivers a Digital Access card number which will work immediately with all of our digital platforms. These accounts can easily be converted to full access so you can check out books, movies, video games, and more. Learn more on our Welcome page.

Author Check

Author Check linkYour favorite author just hit the shelf—and we let you know! Author Check tracks your favorite authors and alerts you when a new book arrives at your library. Access a database of 70,000 popular authors and, with a click of your mouse, add an author to your alert list.

eBook Alerts

New Book Alerts linkeBook Alerts is a service that notifies you of amazing eBooks matching your interests and available with your Westlake Porter Public Library card. Sign up with your email address today!

New Book Alerts

New Book Alerts linkNew Book Alerts is a free online service that showcases the newest titles purchased by Westlake Porter Public Library. Sign up to receive email alerts of new books in a variety of categories.

Online Book Clubs

Online Book Clubs linkJoin WPPL's Online Book Clubs and start receiving chapters from popular books in your daily email.

Every day, Monday through Friday, we'll send you a portion of a book that takes only five minutes to read. Each Monday we begin a new book. Subscribe to the clubs that pique your interest—from mystery and romance to business and classics. Just give us your email address and five minutes a day, and we'll give you an exciting world of reading.

SelectReads

SelectReads linkSelectReads is a free online service delivering information on books to match your interests directly from the shelves at WPPL to your inbox. In addition to monthly updates on various genres and subjects, you can also find newsletters for the Horror Film Club, Investors' Interest Group and other library groups. Sign up today!

Digital Magazines & Newspapers
Flipster Digital Magazines

Flipster Flip to your favorite magazines from any location!

Flipster provides instant access to the magazines you know and love in an easy-to-read digital format!

To access Flipster, enter your library card number (if accessing outside of the library building), and browse available magazines. You can then click on a magazine to view it within your browser. You can access Flipster from a library computer, your home computer, your phone, or your tablet, as long as you are connected to the Internet.

The Flipster app offers offline viewing of downloaded content on your mobile devices. To download the free Flipster app, search the iTunes App Store or the Google Play Store for "Flipster - Digital Magazines".

Library card number required

Connect to Flipster

Hoopla digital

Connect to hoopladigital.com

Hoopla offers streaming movies, television, music, eBooks, audiobooks, magazines and comics! 

  • The loan period for eBooks, comics and audiobooks is 21 days
  • The loan period for music albums is 7 days.
  • The loan period for videos (movies and television) is 3 days.
  • BingePasses—for The Great Courses, Curiosity Stream, Hellosaurus and Magazines—provide unlimited streaming for 7 days.
  • You can watch, listen or read up to 20 items per month.

To get started, create your account on Hoopladigital.com. Choose the version for your operating system and browser.

You can check out content from Hoopla Digital directly from our catalog as well.

You can stream titles instantly through your desktop browser or the mobile app. Apps are also available for popular streaming platforms. Titles are automatically returned and removed from your device at the end of the lending period.

Library card number required.

Connect to Hoopla

The New York Times

The New York Times logo

Enjoy free and unlimited access to world-class journalism in The New York Times.

You will need to register an email address and password the first time you use this access. The same login information can be used for in-library and off-site access.

  • IN LIBRARY access: Register or log in when prompted.
  • Off-site access: Register or log in and redeem a code which is good for 3 days (72 hours) of unlimited access to NYTimes.com and the New York Times app. After 3 days, you will need to log in and redeem another code.

Connect to NYT off-site NYT in library

OverDrive | The Ohio Digital Library

OverDrive Ohio Digital Library

WPPL offers eBooks, digital audiobooks, digital magazines, and videos from OverDrive through The Ohio Digital Library.

Libby app for OverDriveYou can download eBooks for a range of eReaders, like the Amazon Kindle, Sony Reader or Barnes & Noble Nook and many others. We also offer digital audiobooks, magazines, and videos that will play on many devices. 

With the Libby app by OverDrive, you can borrow eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines to read on your phone or tablet. You can even send and read your borrowed eBooks to your Kindle eReader! It’s free and easy to get started for new users and digital library users of all ages—including Teens and Kids.

You can check out eBooks, audiobooks, and videos from OverDrive directly from our catalog as well.

Library card number and PIN required

Connect to OverDrive

The Plain Dealer Digital Edition

The Plain Dealer via NewsBank

Electronic versions of The Plain Dealer newspaper are available via NewsBank for access in-library and from home using your library card number and PIN.

Connect to The PD

PressReader

Link to PressReader

With PressReader and Westlake Porter Public Library, you get access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines as soon as they’re available on shelves. There are no limits on downloads. They're yours to keep forever.

Use your WPPL library card number to connect via the web or with the latest version of the PressReader app.

Library card number and PIN required

Connect to PressReader

The Wall Street Journal Online

The Wall Street Journal logo

Access The Wall Street Journal from anywhere!

  • Enter your library card number to visit the library's WSJ.com login page
  • Create your account with your email and a password then start using The Wall Street Journal Online immediately
  • Your access will be available for the next 3 days
  • After 3 days, simply come back and click the link or button again and login as an existing user with the same username and password you originally created

Library card number and PIN required

Connect to WSJ.com